I thought this was well written and wanted to share it with you all.  This is reblogged (kind of as I don’t know if there’s a way to reblog from Blogger to WordPress without copying, pasting and linking it back) from Woden’s Wondering Witch: Living Living Liminally

 

Female Druids

Every now and then I run across someone who tells me that I can’t be a Druid because only men were Druids historically, or that there was gender separation historically whether it was simply the different genders living separately or full on segregation of practices. I can blame this on popular fiction novels or on bad mass market books on Druidism, but it still leaves the problem of people seriously believing that women can’t be Druids and that bothers me. Not just because I am one, but also because it discourages women just beginning to explore

Druidism as a path and steers them away to other things when Druidism may be where they belong.
Of course there are clearly modern female Druids, some of whom are very well known, and the vast majority of modern Druidic groups are welcoming to Druids of both genders. In this way at least the discussion of female Druids in antiquity is a bit redundant, since whether they existed then or not they most definitely do now. However I think it’s important for people to understand the historic material we have and what it does indicate, so that we can have a clearer understanding our collective past and what it is we are building modern practice from. Although it is broadly true that we will never be able to prove anything about the ancient Druids with absolute certainty, I feel that we can draw logical conclusions from the evidence we have.

 

Finish reading here